Skip to content

days with friends

September 15, 2014

It was a more than usually sociable weekend (not hard, I’m not wildly sociable) with friends old and newer. It’s likely the Marvellous Mummy will never forgive me for the “old” comment, but what can I say, we were at school together and there’s no getting away from it.

Saturday was the Woman’s Weekly craft show in Manchester with the Super Stitcher and our daughters. I felt a bit unsatisfyingly frugal when we got back – particularly compared to the Super Stitcher who had bought a marbling kit that I coveted (I still plan to have it, but not just yet), and some fabric for quilts she is planning. I, on the other hand, will have to live for an awfully long time to use up all the fabric I have at my current rate of (lack of) progress, so I couldn’t justify doing more than browsing. Nevertheless we had a fun and inspiring time, looking at ideas and possibilities.

Sunday was the more traditional day – the christening of the Marvellous Mummy’s daughter, and a lovely opportunity to meet up with her sister for the first time since we left school. We’ve changed a bit!

As I mentioned before, the Marvellous Mummy and I went to school together, but then, in those pre-Facebook days we completely lost touch. I look back now and I find it hard to see quite how we fell so completely out of contact – we’d been close, but her family moved away at the same time that she left school and so there was no opportunity for accidentally crossing paths again. You’d think. And yet, although I now live in Saddleworth in the North West of England, having grown up on the North East coast, here she is again. Coincidentally living just around the corner, in the same village. If I believed in Fate I’d say that it was, but I don’t, so I don’t quite know what to call it. Except nice.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2014 6:15 pm

    sounds like a fun weekend – and how nice to have an “old” friend so close.

  2. pictfamily permalink*
    October 13, 2014 7:49 pm

    Thanks, it was a great weekend, and it is very pleasant, if strange to have a nearby friend of such long standing.

Leave a Reply

