Skip to content

unravelling

February 24, 2014

Have you missed me? I’m not quite sure where all of February has gone to, but I do have at least a partial reason for some of my absence: I have discovered Ravelry. Now I’ve known about it for quite some time – I’ve been registered there for about six years, but until very recently I had used it as a pattern repository. A great place to browse through the thousands of available patterns, many of which are free.

Now I’m not one to point a finger, but I’m blaming Knitting Sarah for what happened next. I liked her idea of doing some sock knitting every day that she mentioned on her blog. I’m not a great sock knitter, but I would like to make more so this looked like a good, low pressure way of going about it, and having help and company along the way. So far, so good. The problem was that she suggested joining the Ravelry group set up for the purpose, Socks with Sarah, and that turned out to be very much the knitting equivalent to lifting the lid of Pandora’s Box.

All those communities! All those ideas! Now this would probably have been quite enthralling all on its own, but it happened to coincide with the Ravellenic Games – a bizarre but wonderful event wherein members of Ravelry challenge themselves to make items, started during or after the Opening Ceremony of the Winter Olympics and completed by the end of the Closing Ceremony. I looked into it, thought it looked fun, and ended up almost obsessed!

And that takes me to the other point, the Winter Olympics. I’m in no way particularly sports-minded, but I do love to watch the Winter Olympics. It’s fascinating, and wonderful to watch what those athletes are able to do. So, what this basically adds up to is a half term of watching and knitting, which hasn’t quite achieved what I thought I might, but on the other hand the knitting’s come on pretty well. Now I just need to maintain my knitting impetus, while reintegrating a bit more of real life. Nothing to it!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. heatherinsf permalink
    March 4, 2014 4:59 pm

    Do let me know when you figure out how to make all of this work! I am glad we are friends on Ravelry and look forward to seeing your socks and othe projects!

    • pictfamily permalink*
      March 7, 2014 11:13 am

      Don’t hold your breath about the making it all work thing.

      Thanks for popping over from Ravelry to say hello 🙂

Leave a Reply

