Skip to content

picking back: literally and figuratively

April 13, 2013

– and I’m feeling very cross with myself about it. First the literal problem: I’ve been knitting a little baby hat for the last week, or at least it’s been on my needles for the last week (I’ve been distracted and slow since I got home) and after a fiddly start it wasn’t going too badly, but I was knitting it as garter stitch in the round, and I never seem to be able to get my needle changes quite as smooth as when it’s stockinette. I was ignoring this and persevering, but then I noticed that I had worked two consecutive rows of knit, a few rows back, and I really couldn’t face the frogging (remember the new word I learned?) knowing that I still wasn’t that happy with the rest of it anyway, so in the end this evening I just pulled it all out – I need to do it differently.

Now to the worse bit: Super Girl is, as you would expect a super girl – she is clever and beautiful and bakes a mean volcano, but I fear she has inherited my lack of application (or at least some of it, which is more than enough) and it’s always our own faults, reflected in others that we find hardest to deal with, isn’t it? So, meanie that I am I picked today, at the end of the holidays, when it’s too late to do anything about it, to point out that she hasn’t picked up her cello to practise, and (entirely perplexing to me, who would live in a book if I could) she hasn’t been doing the half an hour a day of reading that we agreed she should.

This reduced S G to tears for being a disappointment, so now that has to be picked back to the happy, sunny girl that she usually is, and children being rather more complex than hats, I really should have thought harder before I knotted up the situation in the first place.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2013 11:42 am

    Hi! I’ve nominated you for a Liebster Award! You can check out my blog for details. Participate or not (I know we’re all busy), but I just wanted you to know I think your blog is awesome! http://knittingsarah.com/2013/04/17/liebster-award/

    • pictfamily permalink*
      April 18, 2013 10:22 am

      that’s really kind, thank you – I shall have to take a look at the details 8o)

Leave a Reply

