Skip to content

moth and rust

March 11, 2013

In my head this was going to be a more coherent sort of a post, but it will doubtless come as no surprise that that’s not how it’s going to work out. More than half my life ago (and that’s as much as I’m saying) I read Penelope Mortimer’s amazing, bleak, surreal book The Pumpkin Eater, and although it’s the impression that I remember, rather than the storyline, I did think that I remembered an incredible funeral oration. I thought I remembered it right up to the time that I decided to Google it, and then realised that actually I couldn’t remember that either. I thought it was Ecclesiastes, but I’ve checked, and it turns out it wasn’t. It was something along the lines of Matthew 6:19 “Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy,” but rather grander and more impressive. Obviously not quite as memorable as I thought, but it was a while ago. This rather blights my claim to think about this quote but I do, honestly, from time to time, and it seemed the perfect quote for my discovery that moths have been at work and made a meal of the first pair of socks that I knitted, and had a bit of a go at a cardigan of mine by way of a snack.

I have invested in moth proofing things (though not the awful camphor-smelling ones) and decided to have a go at felting the sad remains. The socks may work out, but the cardigan is 10% nylon, still I have nothing to lose by giving it a try. I’ll let you know.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2013 5:19 pm

    Oh no! That’s awful. Moths are the bane of my life. I pay my sons money if they spot and obliterate one. Good luck with the felting. You never know – it could be the start of something new.

    • pictfamily permalink*
      March 11, 2013 8:43 pm

      Thanks, I felt a bit sick when I found them! Maybe they will be the spur I really do need to declutter and tidy, so I can get rid of their hiding places.

Leave a Reply

