Skip to content

The Mark of Athena

February 4, 2013

I hate to admit it, but most great works of literature, I can put down when I need to. I enjoy reading, I go back to it when I can, but it doesn’t often draw me in with an irresistible force. Give me an old-fashioned, rip-roaring adventure story though, and that’s another matter. I have spent far more time than I should have today, reading Rick Riordan’s latest Heroes of Olympus book, and all in vain really, since I have now reached the end, and of course it’s not the end at all – the heroes have reached Rome, but their quest is not completed, and now they have been split up, with dangerous paths to tread. But now I have to wait for the next volume, and according to Rick Riordan’s website that won’t be until October. That’s not good – although it may mean I get more done!

He has also written a couple of books based on Egyptian legend, and there’s one of those left that I haven’t read, but I didn’t enjoy it so much, maybe it’s time to return to “grown up” books for a while.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

