Skip to content

Spreading my Wings

January 5, 2013
20130105-111933.jpg

My beautiful original wingspan.

Back in November, I came across the Wingspan pattern on Ravelry – it looked like fun, and my fate was sealed. It has to be said that I made a bit of a mess of it at first and Super Girl had to sort out where I was going wrong, but after that I was hooked. I used a Crazy Zauberball from Schoppel to knit myself this lovely scarf, and it only took me a week.

It has been much admired, I have told two complete strangers how to find the pattern for themselves, and given one lady I met at the Royal Exchange directions on how to get to Purl City so that she could get some of the same wool too. It’s the perfect low-stress project as it is all in garter stitch which makes it speedy, and it is staggeringly easy, but the short row shaping means that there is a little bit of variety to what you are doing so it isn’t too tedious – the changing colours of the yarn helps here too.

20130105-112014.jpg

A more sophisticated colour range for the Classy Geordie.

Spurred on by my success I have knitted two others, one from another Crazy Zauberball for the Classy Geordie, and one in a lovely Louisa Harding yarn  that I have just finished as a belated Christmas present for the Super Stitcher – after all these years I still optimistically underestimate how long it will take me to finish anything. The yarn is called Amitola, it’s 80% wool, 20% silk so it’s beautifully soft. The scarf took about a ball and a half, so I’m thinking I might experiment with felting the other bit.

20130105-112038.jpg

A Northern Lights effect for the Super Stitcher.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Creative Crafter permalink
    January 7, 2013 4:22 am

    Oh lovely! Clever you, not once but three times, they all look fabulous.

    • pictfamily permalink*
      January 7, 2013 8:09 am

      Thanks, as you can see I became slightly obsessed!

Trackbacks

  1. How impressive is this? « Pictfamily

Leave a Reply

