Skip to content

Two cafés and a wool shop – my sort of day!

October 19, 2012

20121019-192019.jpgWe seem to be having a better autumn than we did summer, and today was another lovely autumn day, just right for a walk by the canal with the Domestic Goddess. This was an unplanned addition to our lovely lunch at the new Limekilns café in the village – which I must admit was an unplanned variation on the coffee I thought I was going out for. After that it was too good a day to just go home, so we headed up past all the locks to Diggle to visit the wonderful Woolyknits where I was very restrained and only bought a couple of sets of dpns (I had to buy two sets as I’m knitting with 5 needles) and some merino tops for stuffing. There were some very beautiful books which we felt suitably proud of ourselves for resisting, though I suspect that that may be a temporary victory. The D G blamed me for being a bad influence – a bad influence in wool shop! I ask you! How are the mighty fallen – that really is a very middle-aged way of being a bad influence.

As if that weren’t enough I also had a nice girly outing to the coffee shop with Super Girl after she got off the school bus. On the occasional days that she comes home without Boy Wonder it’s nice to have an opportunity for a bit of a chat. Luckily she has my fondness for cafés and is happy to indulge: B W always comes over all frugal and points out how we can make our own at home for less, which is undeniably true, but what I am buying when we go out is his undivided attention, which I don’t get at home. This is not lost on him which, I suspect, only reinforces his frugality.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2013 10:29 pm

    We now have a cafe at woolyknit !!! And you can get to it from the canal side directly !!

    • pictfamily permalink*
      March 21, 2013 10:35 pm

      This fact is not lost on me Jacinta, hoping to get there to check it out tomorrow! Also have you seen my pic from last weekend?

Leave a Reply

