Skip to content

having faith

March 3, 2012

and I should have – because although I was worried that we wouldn’t have enough helpers, and then I was worried that we wouldn’t have enough cakes, it all worked out in the end. Good friends turned up to help out, and we wound up with 14 fabulous cakes. So that was the scene at 10.30 – willing helpers, wonderful display and no customers. Bit of a nail-biter there, but then the room filled up nicely – in fact, better than I have ever seen it fill up before, so that was great. People enjoy the competitive element, and several came back for a second time so that they could judge even more cakes (one very scientific customer, started with three samples of chocolate cake, and then moved on to three samples of fruit cakes).

Some of our fabulous array of cakes

The people with fairtrade stalls did a reasonable amount of business, and the Oromocoffee man sold out. Better than that, we’re now going to be selling Oromo coffee at our fairtrade stall after church once a month. This is much nicer than what we were selling before, so it’s win-win.

Cardamom and almond fruit cake.

Did I say win? I am also pleased and proud to announce that I won, with my cardamom & almond fruit cake from the Scandilicious recipe book (the Norwegian spiced chocolate cake came third too).

Boy Wonder's spiced chocolate cake.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Creative Crafter permalink
    March 4, 2012 2:42 am

    Looks absolutely wonderful, I so wish I’d been there with you. Congrats on your winning entries, well deserved.
    I have the sewing machine out this evening for some serious refashioning, it’s Fair Trade all the way for us both this weekend!

  2. pictfamily permalink*
    March 4, 2012 4:26 pm

    Sounds good – at least yours will be rather more lasting – all I have to show for my “triumph” is a warm glow and some crumbs 8o)

  3. Maria permalink
    March 8, 2012 9:56 am

    The cardamon and almond cake was delicious and a worthy winner. So good in fact, I have stocked up on cardamon!

    • pictfamily permalink*
      March 8, 2012 10:27 pm

      it is a good recipe, and cardamom’s great in so many things, so well worth stocking up on 8o)

  4. March 14, 2012 5:05 pm

    You were a true winner – still waiting for the recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

