Skip to content

It’s all about the cake!

March 2, 2012

I was never any good with the whole party-throwing thing. Leaving aside the fact that I’m not brilliant at being sociable, I found it just too hard to deal with the stress of whether or not anyone would come. This doesn’t seem to have stopped me from getting myself involved in these situations anyway. Not a party, but our Fairtrade Baking Challenge. Will there be a low turnout of people (sad and embarrassing) or will there be too many people for the number of cakes entered (also tricky)?

Nothing more to be done about it now – I’ve put up the posters, we’ve set out the tables and the tablecloths, I’ve borrowed a spare urn for the nice Oromo man to offer coffee tasters, I’ve compiled the spreadsheet and the voting sheets for the competition and the Pictlets and I have baked our entries. So tomorrow – Let them eat cake!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Janella permalink
    March 3, 2012 8:17 am

    I expect by the time you get this message it will all be over – thinking of you and hope it went well.

  2. Cathy Rawcliffe permalink
    March 3, 2012 12:19 pm

    I bet everything will be wonderful. Just wish you could airmail me some cake! xx

  3. pictfamily permalink*
    March 3, 2012 3:16 pm

    Thank you for the votes of confidence, we had a good range of cakes and a great turn-out.

  4. Maria permalink
    March 8, 2012 9:58 am

    It was brilliant! Such a good atmosphere and lovely cakes. The oromo coffee was absolutely gorgeous. Is he coming back?

  5. pictfamily permalink*
    March 8, 2012 10:28 pm

    Good news, the fair trade person at church is going to buy some of the oromo coffee to sell every month, rather than the Traidcraft stuff.

Leave a Reply

