Skip to content

if you want to get ahead . . .

February 24, 2012

take a look at my hats!  There’s been a bit of a hat thing going on recently – I made a hat for Mr. Pict’s birthday a couple of weeks ago.

Boy Wonder modelling Mr. Pict's hat

It was my first go at a Woolly Wormhead pattern, and I’m rather pleased with it although it doesn’t really do the lovely bubbles pattern justice, as I was in a hurry to knit it and I didn’t have any dpns the right size so I had to knit it flat then sew it up.  Having invested in the appropriate needles I then moved on to a hat for Super Girl. It’s knitted in a Noro yarn, but I’m afraid it had been knocking around for a while without a label on so I’ve forgotten what it was.  It was a lovely free pattern  from Saartje Knits  and I’m not quite sure whether it reminds me more of a teacosy or a buddhist stupa, but it’s rather fetching on, and very cosy.

Super Girl modelling her hat before heading off to school.

It’s in the nature of Noro that you don’t necessarily get the colours where you want them and these bursts of green and blue have unfortunately ended up on the inside, but she can always wear it inside out.  My last hat (for now) was knitted for the brother of one of Super Girl’s friends. He’s currently losing his hair as a consequence of chemo, so I picked Rowan’s nice cashsoft, so it wouldn’t be irritating.  This pattern originally came from folk stylecompiled by Mags Kandis – in the original version it was knitted in a broken rib, but I wanted something a little bit more classic, so just used her shaping. It’s pretty slimline when off, but stretches nicely to fit.

Boy Wonder modelling again - but he really doesn't look like him here!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

