Skip to content

a spot of shopping

February 11, 2012

It’s the start of half term – next Friday Super Girl and I are planning a trip into Manchester’s Northern Quarter with one of her friends and her mother (if you see what I mean) so we can compare notes on the places that we like to go, but I have some crafting plans for the holiday itself and that’s going to be a bit late for shopping, so we went on a bit of a recce today. After knitting a rather nice woolly wormhead hat for Mr. Pict I want to knit some others, so bought some more dpns at Abakhan – I’d had to knit the first one flat as I was in a bit of a hurry. Super Girl wanted some ribbon to make more watch straps – and then we got distracted and also got her some fabric to make a shopping bag.  Fired with enthusiasm she has stayed up this evening to make her first ever tote bag, and I know I’m not exactly unbiased, but it does look very impressive. I bought some fabric for a shopping bag for me too, but now I’m thinking it might be a skirt. We shall see.

Our other stop was Fred Aldous for some East of India heart shaped buttons (not quite sure what for but I’m sure they’ll be necessary for something), scrapbooks, ribbon and a huge amount of temptation. They have so many nice things, and even though I now have a bag making daughter I do find the idea of this Rob Ryan bag for my birthday very appealing.

It was a short, intense shopping session, rounded off with a trip to see the new Muppets movie, and I hope to show you some of the fruits of all this dedicated purchasing over the next few days.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

