Skip to content

a work in progress

December 21, 2011

We are discussing what we will eat for Christmas. For breakfast this year I think we might have the great Dan Lepard’s banana maple pecan buns (they can rise in a cold oven overnight, and I’ll just need to bake them in the morning. I spotted a mention of the recipe recently on Dessert by Candy‘s blog and thought they would be just the thing.

Lunch is always just scrambled egg and smoked salmon – we have our big meal later, as otherwise it’s all just a bit of a muddle factoring in church and going to a friend’s house for drinks. So the big meal will be in the evening. We don’t eat meat, so that’s the whole turkey thing ruled out, and I make a good chestnut and mushroom pie, so that’s a possibility, but when I asked Super Girl, her list of eating priorities in order was: fried mushrooms, salmon, roast parsnips – I think we still have a little way to go on the planning front!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Maria permalink
    January 2, 2012 10:04 am

    How were the muffins? Love the idea of just turning the oven on in the morning.

  2. pictfamily permalink*
    January 2, 2012 10:24 am

    Underwhelming. Sadly the idea was better than the reality – in my typical deadline-crashing style I didn’t allow enough time for developing the yeast before the multiple restings and kneadings, and I don’t know if it was that or some other inadequacy on my part which meant that the mix was all a bit too soft so I ended up baking it as loaves. It was ok, but not over exciting. I’ll give them one more chance but there was a lot more work involved and I didn’t actually prefer the flavour to my more usual (less time consuming) cinnamon buns.

Leave a Reply

