Skip to content

the good news, bad news game

December 10, 2011

You know the game, right? The good news is, I’d been thinking for a while that I’d like to have a go at making some fabric baskets, and then I happened upon this tutorial. The bad news is that it took me even more of a while to get around to trying it, because it looked like it might require precision, and that’s not what I do best. The good news is that I did try it out last week and it’s actually remarkably straightforward. The bad news is that I managed to get it wrong the first time anyway, and my first attempt came out all the wrong shape.

first attempt - pretty colours though!

The good news is that the second one, came out just like I’d hoped, and really shows off the cute owl fabric. The bad news is that now I think I’m going to have to mess about with maths and proportion so I can have them in a range of sizes.

my owly basket

The good news is that my beautiful owl one has already found itself a new home as part of a birdy birthday present for one of Super Girl’s friends, and the even better news is that my first attempt has gone off to be part of a present for the Efficient Organiser who doesn’t read my blog and so won’t know that it isn’t meant to look like that! Game Over.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2011 2:51 pm

    Wow!
    Where’s the tutorial please?

  2. pictfamily permalink*
    December 10, 2011 8:44 pm

    If you click on the words “this tutorial” the link will take you there – though I have to warn you, a couple of these may be coming your family’s way this Christmas!

  3. Creative Crafter permalink
    December 11, 2011 3:36 am

    WOW! I need to pass on my CC title to you, I love these! I’m going to have a go tomorrow, I wish I could get some cute fabric like your owls…I think I can get parrots and turtles so watch this space!

    • pictfamily permalink*
      December 11, 2011 11:22 pm

      Parrots and turtles sound pretty good! You can actually get away with using quite small amounts of the pretty (more expensive) stuff, which is gratifying. Super Girl has decided she wants these with sweets in as presents for her friends, so have made 3 more today with Christmas fabrics, 3 more to go. I’m also having a go at scaling up – I’ll keep you posted 8o)

  4. Maria permalink
    January 2, 2012 10:07 am

    I like to think I had a small role in this successful project. The two fabrics look great together.

    • pictfamily permalink*
      January 2, 2012 10:27 am

      It wouldn’t have been the same without your professional lining-selection assistance! I’m just off to order fabric some more – will have to hope my fabric matching skills are equal to the task on my own!!

Leave a Reply

