Skip to content

Affirmation

July 18, 2011

Most Fridays the Domestic Goddess and I get together – we chat, I drink tea, she drinks coffee and this week (in honour of the DG’s birthday) we met at Spoonfull of Sugar to eat cupcakes. I don’t want to worry you but I think I like the idea of cupcakes, better than I like the cupcakes themselves, but that, earth shattering as it is, is not the point of today’s post. (And you thought I never had a point!)

Anyway, while I am somewhat shamefaced about my attempts to lead a more creative, more mindful (and let’s face it tidier) life, the Domestic Goddess is almost messianic in her zeal for self-improvement. Recently she shared with me the fact that she was using affirmations, and repeats them to herself while walking to work. I gave it some thought and decided that the one for me was probably: “I am a confident and competent woman and I can manage my time.” It’s not exactly world shattering (and it certainly doesn’t have the references to fabulousness that the DG went for) but maybe it’s wearing off on me. We all managed to get to church on Sunday, complete with the rice salad I nearly forgot to make for the lunch afterwards, and I was heartened (in a very unchristian way) to see one of the more perfect mothers, finishing off her make-up in her pew. At least I’ve never had to do that!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Domestic Goddess permalink
    July 22, 2011 10:52 am

    Just remember Pictfamily – we are all in the gutter, but some of us are reaching for the stars.
    Regards, the very fabulous Domestic Goddess.

  2. pictfamily permalink*
    July 22, 2011 11:14 am

    No argument here – like that quote but really dislike the one about how we should reach for the moon, because even if we miss we will still land among the stars. How? Moon so much nearer. It bugs me every time I see it (and I’m normally so patient and hard to rile!)

Leave a Reply

