Skip to content

overambitious? me?

March 18, 2011

Boy Wonder and Super Girl both play the violin (something that began and ended for me when I was at middle school as I really never got around to practising). They both take after their mother and don’t practise as much as they should, but they do have more staying power than I did. They have both taken sideways steps into playing cello and viola (only one each, they don’t play all three) and have ended up playing those in their orchestras, and I was a bit sad that they weren’t playing violin so much any more, and I really really wanted them to play some more folk stuff. Honestly? I was trying to play vicarious violin.

Well to cut a medium-length story slightly shorter, we have made plans for the extended bank holiday after Easter, we’re going up to Gateshead – not everyone’s first choice as a holiday destination, but the focus of our visit is The Sage, their amazing music centre. They have an incredible Folkworks: Fiddles on Fire Festival (possibly a bit too much alliteration there) happening and we’ve booked tickets to go and see/hear Dave Swarbrick and Martin Carthy – which I must admit I can’t really imagine as we last saw them about twenty years ago and they looked well past middle age then.

The other amazing aspect of the festival though is the workshops – there is an incredible range and they are staggeringly inexpensive so Boy Wonder and Super Girl have signed up for three each and (here’s the overambitious bit) I’ve signed up for two for beginners. So all I have to do now is spend the next five weeks getting myself to beginners standard so that I don’t show myself up too badly. Time for a spot of practice I think!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2011 10:01 am

    Hope it’s going well Erica! Keep at it!

  2. pictfamily permalink*
    March 22, 2011 7:36 pm

    thanks Jude, I can now play the first line of Good King Wenceslas – not entirely seasonal, I grant you 8o)

Leave a Reply

