Skip to content

half full? or half empty?

February 5, 2011

I enjoy blogging – I like the process of spilling my random thoughts out at you, and I enjoy having blogged – I feel like I’ve achieved something. But sometimes, even though I have the time to do it, I just can’t quite bring myself to start. I signed up to the wordpress postaday2011 challenge, because I hoped it would spur me into action – I’m better with some sort of commitment or deadline. It’s sort of worked, I have posted far more than ever before, but it definitely hasn’t been daily: in fact, if I add up all the days that I missed in January they add up to a whole week. I did wonder about this earlier in the year, whether I could consider myself a daily blogger on this basis, albeit one with blips. I decided I could, and carried on with the postaday thing.

Then today I got an email (not extraordinary in itself, obviously). The nice people at wordpress mail everyone on postaday2011 every day, with encouragement and inspiration for blogging. There’s a topic every day – though I have to say I’ve never actually followed up on it. Today’s email was different – it was about someone’s tweet asking how they got back into blogging after a month’s hiatus. With my form, that was something that interested me too, so I took a look at the comments, and I found them really weird. Don’t get me wrong, they were mostly interesting, they were without exception kind and supportive, but (and I’m generalising here, which I know is dodgy) the overall impression that I got was that they view things very differently to me.

I decided that to have the intention to blog daily, and to mostly do that was fine with me, to me that makes me a daily blogger. I don’t aspire to perfection (which is lucky really). The general consensus seemed to be that unless you have posted every day, then you’ve blown it and (I found this really bizarre) several people suggested that the person who had a gap, went back to fill up the available dates in retrospect. Now I can quite see how you would want to do this if you wanted to comment upon some date specific thing, but just to fill in the gaps, so that you look like you’ve been “good?”

The other piece of advice I found hard to take was the idea that it doesn’t matter if you don’t really have anything to say – just say it anyway, so that you haven’t missed a day. Maybe these people are right, maybe they have masses more readers than I have (wouldn’t be too hard), but I don’t think I’d choose to be one of them. The blogs that I enjoy following vary considerably – some are very regular, some are very sporadic; some are incredibly detailed in some way, some are much more laconic: what unites them all is that every time one of them is updated I look forward to taking a look because I know they’ll have chosen to blog because they genuinely have something to say.

One Comment leave one →
  1. creative crafter permalink
    February 5, 2011 10:44 pm

    I totally agree, if you’ve got something to say it’s lovely to hear about it. On the other hand, if you haven’t got time/energy or anything you want to say, don’t stress it, I’ll look forward to hearing something else soon.

Leave a Reply

