Skip to content

unravelling!

January 18, 2011

I hate it when I do this – I’d started a pair of handwarmers for the Alpine Psychologist’s daughter, and they were going fine. I’d picked the smaller size and all was well until I got to the thumb, where I didn’t follow the instructions quite as I should have. I considered trying again, but decided just to fudge it instead. However, the handwarmers had their revenge: I got all the way to the end, and then realised that they are too small. I could have just saved them for a younger child, but now the thumb thing was nagging at me again, so they’ve been unpicked and I’ve started all over again – except that now the bigger size looks too big. Never mind, I shall persevere and if necessary they can be for the AP instead.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2011 5:30 pm

    Oh poor you! I absolutely hate even the very thought of un-doing knitting. But it sounds like you’re quite like me, in that you think you can convince yourself that something “will be ok” but it will keep on niggling you until you put in right! I think it’s most commendable that you started again! Well done! (and if they’re too big this time, maybe a hot wash….???!)

    • pictfamily permalink*
      January 20, 2011 10:11 pm

      thanks auntieboo, I have to admit, if it had been a larger project, I would have been much more tempted just to bodge, but it was only one handwarmer, so not too soul-destroying – I’m back up to the thumb again, so could be worse, though I have to get on with the mystery socks tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

