Skip to content

maybe it’s the lure of the sea

January 2, 2011

I briefly mentioned this knitting project earlier but couldn’t go into too much detail as it was planned as a Christmas present for the Patchwork Perfectionist. Now I do have a chronic tendency to underestimate how long it will take me to do things, and at one point it was looking like it was going to be an Easter gift instead, but I spent a happy Christmas doing little other than eat and knit, and was proudly able to hand it over before we left after our seasonal sojourn.

The plan was to knit a scarf loop in lace weight, and when I found a beautiful 80% merino, 20% silk yarn on the Nimu site, the rest of it all fell into place. The yarn was a wonderful sea blue/green colour, oddly named Napier, and so the obvious choice of lace pattern was print o’ the wave – which I found on this site, but I just knitted a couple of stitches of garter stitch at each edge and three repeats of the main pattern. Then it was a case of following the 12 row repeat until the right length to make a loose loop around the neck. Sorry, forgot to measure it!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2011 7:18 pm

    It’s named after a town in NZ, not Edinburgh! DH and I got married in NZ so a lot of the colours are named after places over there 🙂

  2. pictfamily permalink*
    February 24, 2011 10:05 pm

    thanks for that Clare, I was thinking of a Scottish connection, the New Zealand possibility hadn’t occurred to me. I hope no-one you know has been affected by the earthquake.

Leave a Reply

