Skip to content

Jolly Souper

November 15, 2010

One of the great things about this time of year (I do sometimes have to cast around a bit to find one) is that it is definitely soup weather – very handy for lunches at home or to send off in a flask. The most recent has been creamy winter parsnip soup. It’s my own take on recipes long forgotten, so you’ll have to bear with a certain vagueness on the quantity front.

I was suitably frugal and kept the water in which I’d cooked carrots and broccoli for the previous evening. In that I cooked 1 kg parsnips (peeled and chopped), and a chopped up onion and I stirred in a dessert spoon of curry paste and when the whole thing had been blitzed I thinned it with milk to give it a creamier texture and stirred in two dessert spoons of peanut butter. I haven’t specified the amount of liquid because it depends upon how thick you like your soup. Also, if you’re making some to freeze, then you may as well freeze it pretty thick and thin it down when you defrost it – it saves freezer space. Boy Wonder and Super Girl were sent off with this in their lunchboxes today.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. creative crafter permalink
    November 29, 2010 2:49 am

    Famed for that pot of peanut butter, I believe a few thousand miles is a safe distance though!

    • pictfamily permalink*
      November 29, 2010 11:21 am

      I believe I have learned from experience – I even refrained from adding the usual pecan nuts to brownies I sent Super Girl off with the other day, in case she had allergic friends I knew not of.

Leave a Reply

