Skip to content

The Sunday Sundae

September 19, 2010

It would be hard not to be familiar with the idea that families should gather together round the groaning board on a Sunday and do a spot of bonding. As ideas go it’s one that I rather like myself, but it doesn’t seem to work for us. For one thing Sundays tend to be quite busy what with Boy Wonder’s rugby matches, Super Girl’s netball games, and the whole church thing, quite apart from the fact that Sunday can be a nice day for family outings, all other commitments permitting. So we don’t do the Sunday lunch thing – but Super Girl and I decided that there ought to be something special about Sunday eating, and we came up with the idea of the Sunday Sundae. Now we started this last week – I thought I’d better not mention it then in case we never sundaed again but we’ve managed it for two whole weeks in a row now, so it’s probably about as close to a tradition as I’m going to get. Last week it was hot chocolate meringue: meringue nest, chocolate and vanilla ice-cream, whipped cream and melted mars bar sauce. This week the very berry sundae with whipped cream and crushed meringue, strawberries, raspberries and blueberries (or a combination thereof), vanilla ice cream and chopped roasted hazelnuts. If you ignore the whole sugar and fat thing going on, then it was positively healthy – did you know that you only need seven strawberries to be one portion of your five a day?

In our Year of Living Carefully, I have gone though one of the kitchen cupboards, and discarded a whole load of old drinks bottles, BW, SG and I read another chapter of Around the World in 80 Days (I have been so unconscientious about us doing this that the book will have taken more than 80 days to read), and I have embarked upon the knitting of my second sock. This last while introducing Boy Wonder to the joys of The West Wing. Can you tell it was raining?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Creative Crafter permalink
    September 20, 2010 4:36 am

    Oh dear! This made me feel a bit homesick for crummy Autumnal weather…well ok it was only for a moment but I do miss normalness. I think we’ve been here long enough to try and establish a few traditions and routines now!

    • pictfamily permalink*
      September 20, 2010 7:26 pm

      Well I’d say you’re in the perfect place for a Sunday Sundae 8o)

      • Creative Crafter permalink
        September 22, 2010 2:49 am

        I like your thinking, I’ll keep you posted! Sunday sundae yummies!

Leave a Reply

