Skip to content

I love it when a plan comes together . . .

July 14, 2010

I have for some time now bought into the theory that one should plan one’s meals and wherever possible maximise the use of leftovers in future food preparation. I can see how in theory it’s the way to go, despite all the evidence to the contrary once I put it into practice. It falls apart when it crashes into my twin pillars of over-ambition and fundamental sloth. I plan a sequence of days during which I will produce delicious and nutritious meals pretty much unceasingly, and I shop accordingly.

Then it all goes pear-shaped. It turns out that Boy Wonder or Super Girl (or both of them) have things they have to go to, I have a meeting I forgot, end up with a quick pizza from the shop and the optimistically bought ingredients lie neglected. So when my attempts at joined-up catering do come together it feels like a triumph. We had smoked mackerel hash on Monday (world’s easiest tea – soften some onions, add in sliced, cooked new potatoes and  broken up pieces of smoked mackerel, serve hot with a green salad) and I cooked extra potatoes which I used to make a spanish omlette yesterday for today’s lunchboxes which included the extra egg yolks after I’d taken the whites to make a pavlova to take to book club last night. I realise this is the sort of culinary juggling that the moderately competent achieve on a regular basis, but I was proud of it. And you know what they say about pride.

It takes quite a bit to make me feel guilty – I mean really guilty, not just the low-level, constantly there in the background, I should be doing all of this better, white noise sort of guilty.  I think possibly my default setting for that is usually quite high, so it takes something really noticeable to rise above that and register. However. I returned home from a very pleasant evening of eating too much, drinking too much, and talking far too much (I am so sorry, I was much too loud) to find a note on my bed from Super Girl: Dear Mum, I love you.  I feel a bit sick. Followed by whatever the name is for a sad “smiley.” In my defence, I should say that the Husband was here, but that clearly didn’t make her feel less sick, and it didn’t make me feel less guilty either – no sign of her yet this morning though, so it’s not interfered too much with her beauty sleep. She’s not a child who would be lying unconsidered in her bed, feeling quietly miserable but not wanting to bother anyone. I think she’s going to be ok.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Creative Crafter permalink
    July 16, 2010 10:31 pm

    The pavlova was a mega success and delicious. I hadn’t noticed you’d drunk too much or talked loudly. Hope Super Girl feels better after a few days rest!

    • pictfamily permalink*
      July 17, 2010 8:42 am

      It was a nice pavlova wasn’t it? and totally nut free! I think Super Girl was just feeling edgy about the impending end of term – on which note please thank Mr. C C for coming to her rescue yesterday 8o)

Leave a Reply

