Skip to content

green gym

June 2, 2010

I nearly always wear a step counter, and I’m slightly obsessive about trying to get my daily 10,000 steps. At least I used to be – I bought a new Silva one fairly recently and it’s rather stricter than previous models. This one doesn’t start counting until I have done at least six steps in a row (so all that toing and froing in the kitchen doesn’t count any more) and it’s not that keen on counting steps from my jeans waistband either. When this one says I’ve done 10,000 then it’s a real cause for celebration, but today I think I’ve hit an all-time low – just 1033 steps registered, however I’m still feeling pretty well exercised, having spent a lot of the day in the garden.

Boy Wonder has done sterling work with the clearing of the brambles, and we’ve dug up quite a few bits of currants to pass on to people. We’re now at the digging over phase, which will certainly occupy tomorrow morning as well, but with a bit of luck we’ll be ready to push on after that and start putting down the raised beds for the new vegetable patch. Super Girl has made four of the six beds now and we’re thinking of painting them blue to match the sheds. It’s going to make such a difference to the garden’s appearance when it’s done.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

