Skip to content

home for the day

March 29, 2010

Super Girl was all sleepy and weepy this morning, so she stayed home – this probably won’t have been her one and only lesson in rocket science. She did miss practising her presentation about the Tudors with the rest of her group – but she put the time in at home. We finished off the knot garden and it looks pretty good – if I wasn’t too lazy to go find the camera I’d show you as well, amazing what great hedges you can make out of ricrac braid.

We also did a bit of tidying up in the sitting room this afternoon – so now it just looks untidy, rather than cataclysmic. Most of today’s throwing out has been paper, which is a bit of a cop out really as it’s like taking sand off the shore, there will inexorably be more washed up on the sofas tomorrow. So I’ve (kind of) met my living carefully targets today.

3 good things?  Making the fabric garden (I know, I know, I need to show you a picture); snuggling up with Super Girl – she’s always affectionate, but she’s not so wriggly when she’s under the weather; fourteen different species of birds in the garden today, including a wren with nesting material in its beak, and four cute long-tailed tits.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2010 11:38 pm

    How old is Super Girl?

  2. pictfamily permalink*
    March 30, 2010 10:32 pm

    She’s eleven – in her final year at primary school, she’ll move up to secondary school with Boy Wonder this September 8o)

  3. April 3, 2010 1:55 am

    Ahhhh – such interesting ages – and it gets even more interesting in a few years – just wait! 🙂 The reason I asked about Super Girl’s age is because it reminded me of my own Super Boy when he was 3 years old. He wore his Superman pajamas with the velcro cape everyday for months. He wore two pairs of underpants every day – one pair under his pj’s like a normal kid, and another pair OVER his pj’s – you know, like those red underpants Superman wears over his blue leggings. I bought like 10 pairs of Superman pj’s and 20 pairs of Superman underwear otherwise he would have worn the same 3 pairs he originally owned dirty or not. And he ABSOLUTELY REFUSED to wear anything else, day or night. Then one day, out of the blue, he came out of his room wearing normal clothes – sweat pants and a t-shirt – and I hardly recognized him! I asked him why he wasn’t wearing his Superman pj’s today, and he put one hand on his hip, gave me an exasperated look and said “Well, Mom, somedays a guy just doesn’t feel like flying.” Now when I’m feeling like I need a “sweats and t-shirt” day I remember that 3 year old wisdom: everyone needs an occasional break from flying around saving the world all day!!!

    • pictfamily permalink*
      April 3, 2010 8:42 am

      What a wonderful story! Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

