Skip to content

back to basics

March 20, 2010

I’m trying not to say this in a grey, majorian sort of way. What I mean is that a little while ago I blogged about how I thought this should be my Year of Living Carefully – not a risk averse sort of living, but living in way that expresses greater care for my family, my community, and possibly even for the world in general. However, I am easily distracted, and I think I’ve sort of moved away from that without meaning to.

This morning I was trying to think about what little daily actions I could set myself as targets that would help work towards this, and I’m concentrating on home and family at the moment. Family – because that’s where it all comes from, and home because I’m hoping that if that’s a little less chaotic, I will be a bit more together. So my three daily targets are:

get rid of something (thrown away, passed on to someone or a charity shop, sold on e-Bay, whatever) – there’s just too much stuff!

make something (try to bring a bit more creativity into our lives)

do something with Boy Wonder and/or Super Girl (time is going so fast, and soon they won’t really want to do stuff with me anyway, so I need to seize my moments)

They aren’t particularly ambitious targets, but I hope that the small changes will build towards a noticeable difference, and it’s the daily bit that I hope will be the charm.

So today, I got rid of an old Christmas cracker on a bookcase in the bedroom (why was it even there in the first place?) and cleared out a few old magazines. It’s not what you’d call a big change but it’s a start.

Super Girl and I have made some bracelets for birthday presents. I’ll take some pics and show you them tomorrow, but we’re very pleased with them. (Two birds with one stone!)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

