Skip to content

having our cake and eating it

February 8, 2010

Well, the big plan was that the Creative Crafter and I were going to go for a walk this afternoon.  We hatched our plan on Saturday, when the weather was good, but by the time we met up in the playground this morning, the bitter cold was arguing against  that plan.  The CC did toy briefly with the idea of yoga instead, but she was quickly enticed away from that with an offer of cake.  Now of course the downside of this was that not only were we not exercising, but we were eating cake instead, so I thought I ought to try and pursue a healthy(ish) option, and here it is (and I shall embarrassingly show my age by putting it in ounces, if anybody wants I can work out the grams):

Pictfamily Pear and Blueberry Cake.

4 oz each of sugar and self raising flour with a teaspoon of baking powder;

a small pot of pear purée (the kind you buy for babies) the one I buy weighs about 3 oz and then I make it up to 4 with butter or margarine

2 eggs

a couple of tablespoons of frozen blueberries

All except the blueberries mixed thoroughly, with my electric mixer, then fold in the blueberries put into a 1 lb loaf tin at about 180C for round about half an hour. This bit isn’t terribly precise, because I’ve only made this once so far, so I’d check it after 25 minutes and see what you think.  This makes quite a firm, bouncy cake, and you will know it’s done when it’s light brown and springs back when you press it gently.  If you have a go, let me know how it turns out  8o)

No comments yet

Leave a comment