Skip to content

Living by the rules of the Italian Restaurant

January 25, 2010

Not just any Italian restaurant – although I’m sure many of them have pretty good rules.  But we go to Keswick in the Lake District every year, and walking back from the town involves passing Luca’s – a very attractive Italian restaurant that stands right beside the river (no idea what the food’s like, sorry, I’ve never been in). Across the front of it there is a quotation that I have always really liked (and often misquoted) and I’m thinking that maybe that should be my mantra: “The Loving Eye and Skilful Hand shall work with Joy to Bless the Land.”  Good, huh?  Knowing I was going to write about it here prompted me into finding out how it came to be there, and apparently this used to be the site of a metalwork school, set up to follow the precepts of the Arts and Crafts movement.  So that’s the message for today.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

