Skip to content

The Year of Living Carefully

January 18, 2010

Who on earth starts a new year on January 18th?  Well, it turns out I do.  Obviously we’d got to the line for 2010 and I was thinking the usual thinner, tidier, more organised thoughts but I couldn’t think of a way to articulate this that wasn’t just too clichéd, and Miss World: “I just want to be the best person I can be and save the world.”  You know the sort of thing – laudable and all, but . . .   So I’d not really set out or clarified any resolutions, but I hadn’t given up thinking about it.

So I’ve been mulling it over, trying to think of how I could express my aims and aspirations for me and mine, and the first thing that came to me was the idea of wanting to incorporate more of a home-made ethos into things.  I made some of the Christmas presents this year (still making some, but that’s another story) and I enjoyed the feeling of putting thought and effort into these things for people and the Creative Crafter and I have been talking about getting together and making more stuff, so that’s one thread (nice, appropriate analogy I thought).  I’ve been doing more baking and making more soup, so Boy Wonder and Super Girl have been taking more home made stuff for their lunches, which is a good feeling on snowy mornings, so that ties in nicely too, so this was all setting the scene.  Then as we gradually reclaim the garden I’d like to grow more stuff too.  So home-made doesn’t quite do it all justice, and then the idea of The Year of Living Carefully came to me.  Carefully really as in trying to take care of things, and put care into things, it’s making sense in my head at the moment, but I’m still working on how to express it properly.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

