Skip to content

getting my collar felt

December 16, 2009

I’m owning up here, before I’ve actually owned up in real life, but I’m hoping that I shall make good on my errors tomorrow, so all shall be well.  Last week the creative crafter announced that she was going to initiate me into the mysteries of needle felting.  Actually, she’d been announcing it for quite some time, and it’s not that I was unwilling to be a felting initiate, it’s just that other things kept cropping up instead, but on Friday, it was definite.  She sat me down with some felting wool (there’s probably a technical term for that), a felting needle and a sponge and I started to learn how to make a mermaid – curiously satisfying if somewhat alarming – in theory I now even know how to make a mermaid’s cleavage – but sadly I haven’t got past the theory part for that, because no sooner had I announced to Super Girl that I would show her my mermaid making prowess, than I accidentally snapped the tip off the felting needle – glumness all round.  So now I shall have to head to the shops tomorrow, to replace the needle, and oh dear, I may happen to buy some other stuff while I’m there – every cloud has a silver lining!

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 20, 2009 11:21 am

    Oh I yearn for pictures of your creation. Yes, my first needle felting experience resulted in breaking several needles. Only poking that needle perpendicular took a bit and not moving ( or scooting the roving) to the desired placement using the needle was another of my infractions.

Leave a Reply

