Skip to content

here I go again!

April 16, 2009

When I first started my original Pictfamily blog, I pictured books as being one of the things I would blog about here, and I expect that that will still sometimes be true, but having posted in January, I realised that I had nothing much to add to that. It’s not that I wasn’t reading, but I wasn’t really finishing anything. I started a few books, and it’s not that I didn’t like them, just that I felt no great push to continue with them. I think part of the “problem” is that I’ve become a narrative junkie, and lack the stamina for description or style. This became abundantly clear when I finished my first book in quite some time: Michael Crichton’s Congo. Perfectly good and all, but I think you can probably see my point. So, it’s time to do something about it.

For some time now I have subscribed to the Weekly Simplicity Tips from My Simpler Life, and about two weeks ago I signed up to receive daily mails to encourage and develop a new habit.  Now I never quite decided upon that habit – let’s face it there are lots that I “should” go for, but that would be dull.   Then I thought about music practice (I’m holding this in reserve now for next time) but finally  I have decided.  I am going to read for half an hour a day (at least), and I am going to build up to a range of reading again.

On the bookcase I have lots of the little Penguin books that they sold for their 60th anniversary – a motley selection, neatly arranged in alphabetical order. I plan to just read my way through. The first five: The Emperor’s New Clothes (Hans Christian Andersen), The Seven Voyages of Sinbad the Sailor (not quite sure how that got shelved there, I think it’s because it’s from the Arabian Nights), Meditations (Marcus Aurelius), Catharine (Jane Austen), Gilgamesh and Enkidu (Babylonian Myth). As you can see it’s not the collection, just my collection. I think it should be fun, and if it’s not, then at least they’re short! So, first stop Hans Christian Andersen. I’ve decided to separate this out though and my new reading habit will be blogged at “readinghabit” don’t you just love the imaginative title?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

