Skip to content

the magic porridge pot

March 16, 2009

At this time of year, after months of dreary weather, I need to watch my mood.  Some days, nothing seems to be going right, and when I get that hurried, churning feeling like everything’s going out of control, there are things I know I should do to pull it back again.  Sometimes I don’t do them, sometimes I spend too much of the day sitting on the sofa wallowing and eating chocolate, but the days that I manage to turn it around usually begin with porridge.

However there’s porridge, and there’s porridge.  A friend of mine eats porridge because it’s good for him.  He makes it with water, and occasionally grates apple into it too – this is undeniably good for him, in a cholesterol-lowering sort of a way but not my sort of porridge.  I’m not against healthy food, I know that porridge is good for me, but I don’t want it to taste like it’s good for me.  

My favourite porridge is made with one cup of porridge oats, one cup of milk and one and half cups of water (you see, I’m not completely reckless).  It’s then cooked for as long as it takes me to empty the dishwasher.  I sprinkle in some crushed pumpkin and sunflower seeds (I get to feel nutritionally virtuous, but they don’t interfere with the taste), and a chopped banana.  

Once in the bowl, I top it with 0% Greek yoghurt (you see how good I’m being), maple syrup (maple syrup makes everything better*) and flaked almonds.  How can a day help being better after that?

* this has not been scientifically validated – it’s just a hunch I have.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2009 2:40 am

    Hi this blog is great I will be recommending it to friends.

  2. pictfamily permalink*
    March 17, 2009 8:59 pm

    thanks watcat, it’s nice to know 8o)

Leave a Reply

