Skip to content

painted pleasures

March 7, 2009

I believe I have already mentioned that my birthday is coming up soon – rather inconveniently it falls close to Mother’s Day, which I know can make it tricky on the present front.  I don’t know if it’s a male/female thing -I think it might be, but I do rather appreciate something made by Boy Wonder (hard to get started on things, but once he’s started, he’ll finish) or Super Girl (keen, but with her mother’s fondness for moving onto a new project rather than finishing an existing one).  The husband on the other hand is particularly excited about receiving something new and gadgety.  Now here’s the irony: I am quite good at doing craft type things with the offspring – so he has received a few different home-made things over the years, including a rather fine knitted iPod holder, however the husband would only recognise a craft activity if it hit him over the head – I have been tempted to check this one to be sure.  So I am taking matters into my own hands.  

I have ordered a wooden bird and an Easter tree from Panduro and some acrylic paints, and I have told the children that they are going to paint them for me for Mother’s Day.  I plan to use the tree to hang necklaces from afterwards, and the bird is just decorative.  I actually ordered two birds, because I didn’t want to miss out on the fun, despite my fairly dire artistic tendencies.  We got a flower too, which we’ve painted for grandma – she won’t have to remember to water it!  Granted it does rather put paid to the element of surprise – but the year I was surprised with three soft toys was the year I decided that surprises are overrated.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

