Skip to content

where would we be without rules?

February 25, 2009

I’m still working through the rules for my Lent thing.  But this is where I am so far:

butter and cheese – definitely allowed – I know that strictly speaking these are processed – but there’s no way I’m going into production;

bread – I can and should make ours all the time, rather than just sometimes.  Not sure how the husband will take the lack of shop-bought white, and this is my Lent thing, not his, so I guess it’s okay if he buys and eats his own, but I must be organised enough not to need it for the packed lunches;

pasta – can buy dried, plain;

biscuits, cakes, icecream – definitely not;

quorn products – not made my mind up yet.  We’re vegetarians, so we’d miss it.  Still thinking about this one;

breakfast cereals – I’ll have to go back to eating porridge more.  It’s not the making it I mind, it’s the washing up.  Super Girl and Boy Wonder can work through the backlog of cereals they don’t like so much once they’ve finished their favourite.

I was probably cheating already, before I even started in that I was going round the supermarket, doing my standard acquiring of a pretty mixed trolley full, as I was thinking about the “no-processed-food-for-Lent” thing, so we do have a couple of packs of tortellini and a bag of bagels, that I probably shouldn’t have.  We’re allowed to have these – it would be a waste not to.  

In my defence, I hadn’t really given a great deal of thought to this until I saw the Domestic Goddess yesterday and and she told me about the supermarket thing.  True friend that I am, I lured her in one last time, but only to the coffee shop, honestly, and I did keep my word and see her off the premises again, so that she definitely didn’t shop.  Though this was really overkill, as Lent only actually began today.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

