Skip to content

we’ve eaten the pancakes . . .

February 24, 2009

. . .  so now there’s just the whole Lent thing to do.  I’m not sure how I feel about this really – partly because I’m not often  sure how Christian I feel, which makes it all seem a bit odd, also my birthday nearly always falls during Lent, and insofar as I celebrate I don’t really want it curtailed (I was going to have a wonderful party but then I gave up swinging from chandeliers for Lent – that sort of thing). The purist in me thinks that I shouldn’t be giving up something that I will get some benefit from giving up – so yes I ought to give up chocolate because I would really miss it, but then if I gave up chocolate that would be a big step towards the thinner, svelter (real word?) me.  Which is something I would like and benefit from, so isn’t that cheating?

The Domestic Goddess plans to give up supermarkets for Lent, but that would be incredibly inconvenient and the entire family would suffer if I lost interest in the whole walking to the shops in the village  (and worse still carrying the shopping back) thing and just decided on  beans on toast again – frugal and relatively nutritious.  So I have given this some thought, and the thought that I have had is that maybe I could give up on buying processed foods.  But how processed is processed? A bought lasagne would definitely have crossed the line – not that it would appeal anyway.  But would I have to attempt making pasta at home too?  I know I am incredibly lazy, and don’t always need an excuse not to do things, but I don’t think it’s just the laziness thing that’s kept me from home-made tortellini all these years.  

So there will probably be some arbitrary line drawing here and there – will I decide to allow shop bought bagels, or will we just have to do without until Easter?  Still, I think it’s probably an experiment worth pursuing.  I’ll keep you posted!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2009 9:25 pm

    Great blog, will read more when I have time! xx

  2. pictfamily permalink*
    February 24, 2009 10:40 pm

    Thanks Emma 8o)

Leave a Reply

