Skip to content

swot

January 23, 2009

Thinking about Neville Shute and A Town like Alice yesterday, I can place when I read it fairly clearly, as I must have been before Easter of my last year at middle school, since that was when Mrs. T read the crucifixion scene to the class (when the Australian soldiers are punished by the Japanese for stealing the chickens), and I already knew it.  Mrs. T was a pretty good English teacher, and I quite liked her, right up to the time she told the class I was a swot because I’d done my homework well.  I wasn’t so thrilled with that.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

